吴恩柏教授, PhD
协理副校长(知识转移)

简历

吴恩柏教授于2015年8月加入香港科技大学担任协理副校长(知识转移),带领技术转移中心、创业中心、以及香港科大研究开发有限公司,负责科大的创新创业策略订定及执行,同时也是电子及计算机工程学系的工程实践教授。加入科大之前的十年,吴教授作为香港应用科技研究院(应科院)的副总裁暨群组创建人,建立了研究团队,制定了群组的研发策略,并带领团队研发及产业化:包含穿戴式医疗器械,光学防抖及变焦相机致动器,微机电元件,LEDs,聚光光伏,半导体封装,功率组件,锂电池,智能显示以及机器视觉等;团队共获得了300个发明专利授证,占应科院所有专利的60%,并在香港创新科技署2013年对应科院进行的五年评比中荣膺头筹。吴教授的团队成立了六家新创公司,培养了二十位新创公司的总裁/创建人/联合创建人,获得科技奖项30项,其中10项为香港资讯及通讯科技奖。自2014年,吴教授也同时领导了全应科院的智能制造研发。

在加入应科院之前,吴教授担任台湾工业技术研究院电子所的副所长,领导电子所的先进电子封装技术中心及平板显示技术中心,为台湾的世界级电子封装产业和平板显示产业作出贡献。

吴教授获美国电机电子工程师学会(IEEE)和美国机械工程师学会(ASME)颁授的会士(Fellow)荣衔,他于1981年在美国爱荷华大学取得硕士学位后在硅谷开展职业生涯,并于1988年获得美国加州大学柏克莱分校博士学位。他在国立台湾大学担任教授15年,获台湾教育部教学特优奖及国科会优良研究奖,同时也是国立成功大学土木工程系杰出系友,以及美国加州及台湾的注册专业土木工程师。

Professor Enboa Wu, PhD
Associate Vice-President for Knowledge Transfer

Biography

Prof. Enboa Wu joined the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) as the Associate Vice Present for Knowledge Transfer (AVP-KT) in August 2015 and has been leading Technology Transfer Center, Entrepreneurship Center, and HKUST R and D Corporation Ltd. for promoting innovation and technology endeavors for HKUST. He is also Professor of Engineering Practice in Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering. Before joining HKUST, Professor Wu devoted 10 years in Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI) where he was the Vice President and Founding Group Director. In this capacity he created from scratch technical teams on medical wearables, OIS & zoom camera actuators, MEMS actuators, LEDs, CPV, semiconductor packaging, power devices, Li-battery, intelligent displays and machine visions, etc. Under his leadership, the teams granted 300 invention patents amounting to 60% of ASTRI’s total and was ranked top in ASTRI’s 5-year Review by Innovation and Technology Commission (ITC) in 2013. Over the period his team spun off 6 startups, created 20 startup’s CEOs/founders/co-founders, as well as received 30 technology awards including 10 Hong Kong ICT Awards. He has also led ASTRI-wide Intelligent Manufacturing Initiative for Industry 4.0 since 2014.

In his previous post as the Deputy General Director of ERSO/ITRI in Taiwan, Professor Wu led the Advanced Packaging Technologies Center and the Flat Panel Display Technologies Center, both were the largest applied research teams then in Taiwan to help strengthen the two Taiwan’s world-class industries.

Professor Wu is a fellow of IEEE and ASME. He received his PhD degree from the University of California at Berkeley in 1988 while starting his career in Silicon Valley after receiving his MS degree from the University of Iowa, Iowa City in 1981. He devoted 15 years as a professor at National Taiwan University with recognitions of the Outstanding Teaching Award from the Ministry of Education and Excellent Research Awards from National Science Council of Taiwan. He is a distinguished alumnus of the Department of Civil Engineering of National Cheng-Kung University, and a registered professional civil engineer in California and Taiwan.