倪明选教授, BS, MS, PhD
首席副校长

简历

倪明选教授自2019年5月16日起出任香港科技大学首席副校长,以及计算器科学及工程系讲座教授。在此之前,他曾任澳门大学学术副校长、计算机及信息科学系讲座教授。于2002年7月至2014年12月期间,倪教授曾于香港科技大学担任多个职位,包括计算器科学及工程系主任与讲座教授、霍英东研究院院长,以及校长特别助理。

倪教授于1980年获得美国普渡大学电机工程博士学位。他曾任密歇根州立大学计算器科学与工程系教授 (1981-2002)、美国国家科学基金会微电子系统结构项目主任(1995-1996)、CC&T技术公司联合创办人暨执行长(1998-2001),及中国国家重点基础研究发展计划(973计划)中关于无线传感网络的基础理论及关键技术研究项目之首席科学家(2006-2011)。

倪教授的学术著作大多发表在一流的学术期刊或会议,其著作被引用次数逾32,000次(据Google Scholar)。作为8个国际会议最佳论文奖的得主,他亦拥有27个美国/中国授权的专利,并曾指导毕业71名博士。

倪教授为电机及电子工程师学会(IEEE)终身会士,并荣获中国计算器学会所授予的海外杰出贡献奖(2009)、中国教育部所颁发的自然科学一等奖(2010)、中国国务院所颁发的国家自然科学二等奖(2011),以及广东省颁发的科学技术一等奬(2014)。

 

职责

首席副校长负责制定大学的学术策略,是大学学术活动的领导者,监督大学的教研活动以促进学习和知识的追求。同时,首席副校长负起管理角色,协调大学里的各种职能,以完成大学的使命。

Professor Lionel M. Ni, BS, MS, PhD
Provost

Biography

Professor Lionel M. Ni took office as the Provost of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) on May 16, 2019. He is concurrently Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering. Prior to this, he was Vice Rector (Academic Affairs) and Chair Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Science at the University of Macau. From July 2002 to December 2014, he served at HKUST in various capacities including Chair Professor and Head of Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Dean of HKUST Fok Ying Tung Graduate School and Special Assistant to the President.

Professor Ni earned his PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 1980. He was Professor in Computer Science and Engineering at Michigan State University (1981 to 2002), the Microelectronic Systems Architecture program director at US National Science Foundation (1995-1996) and co-founder and CEO of CC&T Technologies, Inc., Michigan (1998-2001), and the Chief Scientist of the China’s National 973 Program on Wireless Sensor Networks (2006 to 2011).

Professor Ni’s research publications have received strong support with over 32,000 citations on Google Scholar. The winner of 8 best paper awards, he has multiple achievements including ownership of 27 US/China patents and having supervised 71 PhD students.

A Life Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Professor Ni won the Overseas Outstanding Contribution Award from China Computer Federation in 2009, the First Class Award in Natural Sciences from the Ministry of Education, China in 2010, the Second Class Award in Natural Sciences for Research Excellence from the State Council, China in 2011, and the First Class Award in Science and Technology from the Guangdong Province in 2014.

 

Areas of Responsibility

Among his major responsibilities, Provost is the chief  academic officer who provides leadership in setting the University’s academic strategy and priorities and oversees the University’s core mission in advancing learning and knowledge through teaching and research.   Additional to the academic leadership, Provost also plays an overall managing role in coordinating and synergizing the various University functions towards the agreed strategies and goals.