全球挑战

我们致力于通过科技和创新手段,应对当前的全球风险,为当今重大的全球性问题提供解决方案

人类对经济发展的过度追求,往往导致地球环境恶化和自然资源的枯竭。我们通过开发新技术及从政策层面寻求解决方案,致力于保护地球的稀有自然资源。
电燃料储能系统 image

我们的科学家团队正在进行一个关于具充值能力的电燃料能源(又名e-fuels)储存技术系统的大型研究项目。由于太阳能和风能并不能长期无间断供应,使得可再生能源无法广泛使用,而该项研究将有助解决这个难题。

为我们的海洋把脉 image

我们的跨学科研究团队正进行一项针对香港沿岸水域日益严重的富养化和缺氧成因的研究,并从科学实证的角度,制订了一套用以稳定或逆转该问题的策略,为政府提供解决思路,从而令海洋环境更具可持续性。

优化中央制冷系统 image

我们利用海水制冷技术,将中央供冷站改造为区域性供冷系统,为新建的基础设施提供空调,从而节省了逾百万元的成本并减少至少20%的能源消耗。

SANI污水处理项目 image

我们的污水处理技术SANI —— “杀泥技术”,能够减少90%的污泥制造、降低50%的污水处理成本,以及减少35%的温室气体排放,从而尽量减少污水处理对环境造成的不良影响。

船舶废气排放传感器 image

一个用以测量船舶排放污染物的新传感器系统,能够在短短两分钟之内实时测量船舶燃料含硫量,准确度超过90%。该无人机传感器技术将有助政府就已收紧的《空气污染管治》规例,进行更有效的执法。

The pursuit of economic growth often leads to environmental degradation and depletion of natural resources. We strive to preserve our scarce natural resources by developing new technologies and generating policy-relevant solutions.
E-Fuel Energy Storage System image

Our scientist leads a large-scale research project to develop an energy storage system that incorporates electrically rechargeable liquid fuels known as e-fuels. It helps to address existing challenges preventing the widespread use of renewable energy due to the intermittent nature of solar and wind energy.

Diagnosing Our Oceans image

A HKUST multidisciplinary research team investigates the driving forces of the increasing eutrophication and hypoxia in Hong Kong coastal waters, contributing toward government policy by providing a scientifically-based strategy for stabilizing or reversing the problem for a more sustainable marine environment.

Remodeling Central Chiller Plant image

We have upgraded our central chiller plant, which adopts a seawater-cooled central chilling technology into a district cooling system, to provide air-conditioning to expanded infrastructure, helping to save millions of dollars and over 20 percent of energy consumption.

SANI Wastewater Treatment Project image

Our sewage treatment technology SANI - Sulphate reduction, Autotrophic denitrification and Nitrification Integrated Process - minimizes the adverse environmental impact of sewage treatment by eliminating 90% of sewage sludge production, cutting down sewage treatment cost by 50% and also greenhouse-gas emission by 35%.

Vessel Emission Sensor image

A new sensor system designed to detect pollutants from vessels is capable of measuring real-time vessel fuel Sulphur content in 2 minutes with an accuracy rate of over 90%. The senor-equipped drones will help enforce the tightened Air Pollution Control (Fuel for Vessels) Regulation more effectively.