科大故事

科大起源

1989年,中國國家改革開放逐漸取得成果,帶動地區形勢急速轉變。香港憑藉其獨特優勢,銳意發展成為亞洲金融中心,以及珠江三角洲地區的知識和經濟樞紐。有見及此,高瞻遠矚的香港領袖計劃成立一所研究型大學,以支持香港的未來發展。

這項艱鉅但意義重大的項目迅速吸引一批來自全球的教育家,他們無懼重重挑戰,懷著對教育的滿腔熱誠,共同創立香港科技大學。

「今日所見,科大始終沒有偏離一眾創辦人所賦予它的使命,積極創新,並透過於教研方面不斷求進,以協助香港及內地的經濟和社會發展,我為此感到無比自豪。」
- 香港科技大學校長史維教授

時至今日,科大已成為一所享譽國際、領先同儕的高等學府,在科學、工程、商業教育、人文和社會科學等不同範疇繼續追求卓越、尋求突破。

我們天生勇於創新,只要你敢於接受挑戰及超越自我,歡迎你與科大一起攜手努力,為改善人類生活共同奮鬥。

our-story

科大校徽

科大的校徽具有多重象徵意義。從意象的角度凝視,在知識之源的書本之上,冒起了智慧的金色大腦。而在高舉書本的雙臂之中,既是一個代表科學的燒瓶,亦是一個代表工程與技術、或傳播與管理的發射塔。我們也可以看到太陽發出金色的光芒,那是非常傳統的中國色彩,映照在代表香港的湛藍色大海上。支持着這些象徵標誌的是三個希臘字母 ,分別為「upsilon」、「psi」和「tau」,音譯則作「UST」。總而言之,校徽跟科大本身一樣,蘊含多重意義。

our-logo

科大標誌

很少學府能夠像科技大學一樣,以極具代表性的日晷作為大學標誌。這件名為「時間之輪」的雕塑迄立於科大廣場中央,是由香港賽馬會委託一對居於澳洲西部珀斯的愛爾蘭藉藝術家夫婦Charles和Joan Walsh-Smith創作而成。

這件雕塑以日晷 — 人類最早期的科學發明之一作為設計藍本,它將技術和自然融為一體,體現了我們作為一所大學的意義。它的優雅與歷史元素相結合,同時帶有永恆不變之意,其簡約流暢的線條營造出未來感。日晷在乍看之下像一團火焰,而其把概念迥異的元素加以統一,正正顯示人類只要有雄心壯志,便能將目標實踐。

日晷以鋼鑄造,安裝在水池中央的寬階平台上,象徵著時間的流逝。平台上還有浮雕壁畫,描繪了中國在科學和技術領域所取得的39項成就。紅色日晷於1991年10月8日安裝完成後隨即成為科大的標誌,透過其形態、功能、歷史和未來之間相互交織,反映出科大的不同面貌。

設計主題:
「這個高 8.5 米、眾所矚目的『時計』結合藝術與科學,它既具日晷的實際時間功能,又是一件可供欣賞的藝術雕塑,兩者完美兼容。它那翱翔、飛舞、優雅的形態,寓意著活躍的動感和複雜的形體節奏,無論是視覺上還是美學上,利用太陽及其陰影體現了日晷功能的精神本質。」

沒有對歷史的堅定認同,中國科學技術就無法走向未來。欲戰勝自然界的挑戰,就需要深刻理解科學與自然之間重要的關係。一件物件本身的效用離不開藝術性和它所展現的形式。 「時間之輪」表明,只有掌握了這些二元性,我們才能超越最天馬行空的夢想,戰勝我們面臨的任何挑戰。在香港科技大學,我們的意志毅力比我們的雄心壯志更強大。

our-icon

Our Story

Our Beginning

In 1989, the leaders of Hong Kong saw a need to build a new, research-focused university to support the city’s future ambitions—to become not just the financial hub of Asia, but also a center of knowledge advancement, economic growth and influence in the Pearl River Delta Region, leveraging Hong Kong’s unique status with China who just recently opened to reforms.

The herculean task—building an institution with global ambitions from the ground up—soon attracted a group of high-spirited scholars from around the globe, who embraced the challenge with open arms and started what would become the eventual Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

“I am proud to see that HKUST has not diverted from the mission its founders have bestowed upon it – to create, and not to replicate; and to assist in the economic and social development of Hong Kong and beyond.”

-Professor Wei SHYY, President, HKUST

Today, HKUST has risen through the ranks and become a global powerhouse in tertiary education as a result of our continuous pursuit of excellence in everything we do, leaving its mark in life science, engineering, business education, humanities and social science, and much more. 

Innovation is in our DNA, and we welcome everyone to join our cause to change peoples’ lives for the better—as long as you are willing to defy the odds and push yourself beyond your limits to make a difference.

our-story

Our Logo

The logo of our University is in several ways symbolic of the institution. Lyrically we visualize the golden head of wisdom over the open book of knowledge. Between the arms holding the book can be seen as a flask representing science. Alternatively, it is a transmission tower representing engineering and technology or communication and management. We can also see a sun radiating gold, that very traditional Chinese color, over an ocean glowing with the deep blue representative of Hong Kong. Supporting these emblems are the three Greek letters upsilon, psi,  and tau, that is:  transliterating as UST. The logo entwines many meanings, as does the University itself.

our-logo

Our Icon

Few symbols represent an institution like our sundial represents us, entitled "Circle of Time", the sculpture standing in the center of the Entrance Piazza was commissioned by the Hong Kong Jockey Club and created by two Irish-born, Perth (Western Australia) based sculptors, the husband-and-wife team of Charles and Joan Walsh-Smith. 

The sculpture is based on one of mankind's earliest scientific inventions: a sundial. The ability to integrate technology and nature into a seamless form personifies who we are as a university. Its elegance marries elements of the past, while remaining timeless, invoking the future with its minimalist lines, though instantly recognizable as the form of fire, the unity of these incongruent idea stands as a testament to what can be accomplished by the ambition of man.   

The sundial is made of steel and mounted on a paved podium of broad steps in the center of a pool of flowing water - a metaphor for the passage of time. The podium also incorporates a carved mural depicting 39 Chinese achievements in all fields of science and technology. The installation took place on October 8, 1991. The red sundial has then become an icon of our University, with its facets reflecting the interplay of form, function, history, and futurism. 

From the Design theme:

"This major focal-point is a great, 8.5m tall 'Timepiece', which is a synthesis of art and science, in that it is a sculpture which actually functions as a sundial, and a sundial which is also a sculpture, irrespective of its functional element. The soaring, sweeping, graceful forms of this centerpiece, is suggestive of dynamic movement and complex rhythms of shape, which uses the Sun and its shadows as an intrinsic element of its function, both visually and aesthetically."

The future of Chinese science and technology cannot be met without a firm recognition of its past.  Taming the challenges in nature requires an understanding of its essential relationship with the sciences. The utility of an object cannot be separated from its artistry and the form that it takes. The “Circle of Time”, shows that only through the mastery of these dualities we can surpass our wildest dreams, being more than equal to any challenge ahead of us. At HKUST our will is greater than our ambition.

our-icon