HKUST Holds the First Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships Partnership for Excellence

photoThe Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held the First Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships today to confer named professorships on 13 outstanding faculty members. Made under the University’s newly launched “HKUST Named Professorship Program”, the named professorship appointments are intended to foster the University’s education and research excellence by giving due recognition to the exceptional faculty.

Addressing the ceremony, President Prof Tony F Chan said the professorship holders all excel in a diverse range of disciplines encompassing science, engineering, business, social science, life science, nanotechnology and others. Their education and research accomplishments have constantly been placed at the forefront of international scholarship, helping the University develop into a world-class research university. The honorees’ passion for teaching and research also sets an inspiring example for students’ learning and personal development.

Prof Chan believed the community’s contribution is indispensable to the making of world-class universities. He expressed his wholehearted gratitude to donors and supporters for their generosity in creating the named professorships. HKUST will continue its relentless pursuit for innovation in education and research, in addition to garnering support from society and recruiting talents for the good of the University, and the greater good of the community and the country.

Among the officiating guests at the Inauguration Ceremony were HKUST Council Chairman Dr Marvin K T Cheung and President Tony F Chan. Donors, corporate sponsors and their representatives were also present at the ceremony. They are: Dr Helmut Sohmen, Dr & Mrs Hari Harilela, Mr Ronnie Chan, Mr & Mrs Kenneth Fang, Dr Geoffrey Yeh, Mr & Mrs Thomas Liang, Ms Cynthia Mong, Mr Ming-wai Lau, Ms Claudine Ying, Ms Ching-leun Teo, Prof Paul Cheung, Mr Anthony Cheong, and others.

List of the First Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships:
Existing professorship holders:Prof Kalok ChanDepartment of Finance
Synergis – Geoffrey YEH Professor of Business
 Prof Kalok_Chan
Prof Ping ShengDepartment of Physics
Dr William M W Mong Professor of Nanoscience
 Prof Ping_Sheng-z
Prof Hoi-Sing KwokDepartment of Electronic and Computer Engineering
Dr William M W Mong Professor of Nanotechnology
 Prof Hoi-Sing_Kwok-z
Visiting professorship holder:

Prof Bright ShengSchool of Humanities and Social Science
Y K Pao Distinguished Visiting Professor of Cultural Studies

 Prof Bright_Sheng-z
New professorship holders

Prof Jaideep SenguptaDepartment of Marketing
Joseph Lau Professor of Business

 Prof Jaideep_Sengupta-z
Prof Albert HaDepartment of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations
Wei Lun Foundation Professor of Business
 Prof Albert_Ha-z
Prof Mingjie ZhangDivision of Life Science
Kerry Holdings Professor of Science
 Prof Mingjie_Zhang-z
Prof Benzhong Tang, Department of Chemistry
Stephen Kam Chuen Cheong Professor of Science
Prof Nancy IpDivision of Life Science
The Morningside Professor of Life Science
Prof James KungDivision of Social Science
Yan Ai Foundation Professor of Social Science
Prof Chung-Yee LeeDepartment of Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management
Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Engineering
Prof Tongyi ZhangDepartment of Mechanical Engineering
Fang Professor of Engineering
Prof Matthew McKay, Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering
Hari Harilela Associate Professor of Electronic and Computer EngineeringFor media enquiries, please feel free to contact:
Mavis Wong
Tel: 2358 6306