

## 02/06/2006

## IAS at HKUST Attracts the World's Best Minds

The Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) is destined to be one of the world's leading intellectual centers, according to Prof Paul Chu, President of HKUST.

The IAS is a key initiative outlined in the *HKUST Strategic Plan 2005-2020* with the mission to drive major scientific and technological advances, as well as to nurture young talents as the innovators and leaders of tomorrow.

Prof Chu, IAS's Founding Director, said: "As the academic mecca of Hong Kong, IAS will place Hong Kong firmly on the world map, on a par with the top research institutes in the world. We're now actively recruiting the permanent faculty members who will form the backbone of the Institute."





Site of the IAS

Located on a site with an unparalleled sea

view, the Institute will provide a home for internationally renowned scholars, who will work in close partnership with local academics in advancing the frontiers of knowledge and making scientific breakthroughs. They will also teach and mentor gifted students, both undergraduate and postgraduate, give public lectures and promote popular science.

The distinguished lecture by world-renowned scientist Stephen Hawking, to be held on Thursday, 15 June 2006, will constitute the Inaugural Lecture of the IAS.

Building on the existing strengths of HKUST, IAS will embark on both basic and applied research across disciplines and institutions. Attention will be focused on selected high-impact areas identified in the Strategic Plan: nano-science and nano-technology, biological sciences and biotechnology, information technology, and the environment and sustainable development.

A 13-member International Advisory Board, comprising eight Nobel Laureates, one Turing Award recipient and one Fields Medalist, has already been formed. These eminent scholars include: Profs C N Yang, David Baltimore, Steven Chu, Y T Lee and Ferid Murad.

The Institute is a partnership between the University, industry and business, and is receiving strong support from the government and the community.

**International Advisory Board** 

Members Affiliations/Awards

1.	Alexei Abrikosov	Argonne National Laboratory; 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics
2.	Michael Atiyah	University of Edinburgh; 1966 Fields Medal
3.	David Baltimore	California Institute of Technology; 1975 Nobel Prize in Medicine
4.	Steven Chu	University of California Berkeley; 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics
5.	Tord Claeson	Chalmers University of Technology Former Chair, Physics Panel, Nobel Prize Committee
6.	Marvin Cohen	University of California Berkeley President, American Physical Society
7.	Neal Lane	Rice University; Former US Presidential Advisor
8.	Y T Lee	Academia Sinica; 1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
9.	Ferid Murad	University of Texas Medical School-Houston; 1998 Nobel Prize in Medicine
10.	Douglas Osheroff	Stanford University; 1996 Nobel Prize in Physics
11.	Samuel Ting	Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1976 Nobel Prize in Physics
12.	C N Yang	Tsinghua University and The Chinese University of Hong Kong; 1957 Nobel Prize in Physics
13.	Andrew Yao	Tsinghua University; 2000 Turing Award

## IAS Inaugural Lecture by Stephen Hawking