葉玉如教授
PhD, MD, JP
副校長(研發及研究生教育)

HKUST Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies_Professor Nancy Y Ip_portrait葉玉如教授, JP, MH, PhD

副校長(研發及研究生教育)

 

 

 

 


簡歷

葉玉如教授於2016年11月出任為香港科技大學副校長(研發及研究生教育)。

葉教授在哈佛大學醫學院取得藥理學博士學位,此後她在紐約 Regeneron 製藥公司擔任高級科學家。加入科大後,她擔任過理學院院長、生物技術研究所所長,以及生物化學系主任等職務。現時擔任科大晨興生命科學教授及分子神經科學國家重點實驗室主任。

她的主要研究領域包括神經系統的發育及功能,以及神經退行性疾病(如阿爾茲海默氏症)的藥物開發。她因神經營養因子(一種促進神經系統中的神經元存活、發育及維持的蛋白質)領域的重要生物學發現而聞名。她亦對了解與腦部發育、突觸可塑性以及其在神經系統疾病中調節異常有關的分子機制作出了重大貢獻。

作為一名卓有成就的科學家,葉教授發表的科研論文逾260篇,被科學引文索引(SCI)引用18,600餘次,且持有41項專利。她當選中國科學院院士、美國國家科學院外籍院士、世界科學院院士,且最近當選美國人文與科學院外籍院士。葉教授亦是香港科學院創院院士。她屢獲殊榮,包括國家自然科學獎、歐萊雅—聯合國教科文組織「世界傑出女科學家成就獎」,以及法國政府頒發的「國家榮譽騎士勳章」。她亦是《神經科學雜誌》的資深編輯,並且當選神經科學及藥理學領域的兩大領先全球組織—美國神經科學學會及國際神經精神藥理學協會理事會成員。此外,她還是世界經濟論壇大腦研究專題全球議程理事會成員。

 

職責

副校長(研發及研究生教育)負責科研及研究生教育的發展策略,並領導大學的卓越研究,致力對本地及內地作出重要的貢獻。

研發及研究生教育辦公室負責促進與本地、內地和國際夥伴的多學科研究,共同研究發展及資助機會;推廣研發、創意文化和相關活動;為研發提供行政支援;及高質素和全面的研究生教育。

目前,以下辦事處、先進的中央研究設施及研究所正支援此運作:

Professor Nancy Y. Ip
PhD, MD, JP
Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies

HKUST Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies_Professor Nancy Y Ip_portraitProfessor Nancy Y. Ip, JP, MH, PhD

Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies

 

 

 

 


Biography

Prof Nancy Ip took office as Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies of HKUST on 1 November 2016.

Prof Ip received her PhD degree in Pharmacology from Harvard Medical School, after which she held the position of Senior Staff Scientist at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. in New York. Since joining HKUST, she has served as the Dean of Science, Director of the Biotechnology Research Institute, and Head of the Department of Biochemistry. She is currently the Morningside Professor of Life Science and Director of the State Key Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience.

Her major research interests are in neural development and function as well as drug discovery for neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease. She is well-known for her seminal discoveries in the biology of neurotrophic factors, which are proteins that promote the survival, development, and maintenance of neurons in the nervous system. She has also made important contributions towards understanding the molecular mechanisms underlying brain development and synaptic plasticity, and their dysregulation in neurological disorders.

As a highly accomplished researcher, Prof Ip has published over 260 scientific papers with 18,600 SCI citations, and holds 41 patents. She was elected to the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the US National Academy of Sciences, the World Academy of Sciences, and most recently, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Prof Ip is also a founding member of The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong. She has received numerous awards and honors including the National Natural Science Awards, the L’OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Award, and the “Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite” (National Order of Merit) by the French Government. She is also the senior editor of the Journal of Neuroscience, and an elected Councillor for two leading global organizations in the fields of neuroscience and pharmacology: the Society for Neuroscience and the CINP (Collegium Internationale Neuro-Psychopharmacologicum). Furthermore, she is a member of the Global Agenda Council on Brain Research of the World Economic Forum.

 

Areas of Responsibility

The Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies (VPRG) has overall responsibilities for strategic development of research and postgraduate education, and provides leadership to the university community in building on our research excellence with the aim of making greater, more significant contributions to the betterment of Hong Kong, Mainland and beyond.

The Office of Research and Graduate Studies is responsible for the advancement of high-impact and multi-disciplinary research, development of research collaboration and funding opportunities with local, Mainland and international partners, promotion of research and creative culture and activities, provision of research administrative support to the university community, and offering of high quality and comprehensive postgraduate education. Currently, it is supported by the following offices and state-of-the-art Central Research Facilities and Institutes: