治理组织

根据《香港科技大学条例》及规程,校董会、顾问委员会及教务委员会为当中最主要的三个管治机构。

顾问委员会

顾问委员会是科大最高的咨询机构,就大学整体政策提供意见。委员会定期审视校长所提交的年报及校董会的报告,并为科大募集资源及开拓其他发展机遇。

校董会

校董会是科大最高的管治机构,行使大学条例所赋予的权力和职责。校董会主要负责大学的投资、合约、资产、高层任命、财务预算等财政事宜及制定规程等。

教务委员会

教务委员会是科大最高的教务机构,负责制订及检讨教务政策。其成员包括校长、首席副校长、副校长、学院院长、学系主任、教学支援单位主管和由教学人员互选产生的代表及学生代表等。

香港科技大学条例

《香港科技大学条例》于1988年根据香港法例第1141章成立。 《条例》确立大学的权力和使命、职责特权,以及章程等,并为大学的独立运作提供法律框架。

大学规程

由大学校董会批准的规程详尽列明有关章程及程序方面的重要事宜,为《条例》提供补充,规程规定大学的管治机制,并列明获赋予所有权力及委任所有职责的机构及人员。

Governance

Stipulated in the University Ordinance and Statutes are 3 major bodies in the University governance structure, namely the Court, Council and Senate.

Court

The Court is the supreme advisory body of the University. It gives advice on matters of general University policy. It is responsible for receiving an annual report from the President and considering any reports made to it by the Council. It also contributes to the University’s development by raising funds and promoting the University’s interests.

Council

The Council is the supreme governing body of the University. It exercises the powers and duties of the University as specified in the University Ordinance. It is mainly responsible for investments, contracts, property, senior appointments, budget, finance, making of statutes, etc.

Senate

The Senate is the supreme academic body of the University. It is responsible for setting and reviewing academic policies. Members of the Senate, being employees or students of the University, include the President, Executive Vice-President and Provost, Vice-Presidents, Deans, heads of academic departments and heads of units and centers, academic staff elected by their peers, and student representatives.

HKUST Ordinance

The HKUST Ordinance was incorporated in 1988 under Chapter 1141 of the Laws of Hong Kong. It outlines the University’s powers and mission, duties, privileges, and constitution etc. and provides a legal framework for the University to function independently.

Statutes of the University

The Statutes, approved by the University Council, set out in detail important constitutional and procedural matters supplementary to the Ordinance. The Ordinance and Statutes stipulate the machinery of governance, setting out the bodies and officers in whom all powers vest and upon whom all duties devolve.